Singapore Writers Festival
Singapore Writers Festival

Singapore Writers Festival



P. Krishnan

P. Krishnan, is a prolific writer, poet, playwright, and radio producer-presenter, who wrote under the pseudonym “Puthumaithasan". A founding member of the Singapore Tamil Writers Association, he was a writer known for his works that depict the aspirations, lifestyles and experiences of the Tamil community in Singapore. He also enjoyed a distinguished career working for Radio and Television of Singapore. He has received many prestigious awards, both local and international, in recognition of his contribution to Tamil literature and Tamil language, including the Cultural Medallion in 2008.

Rama Kannabiran

Rama Kannabiran is Singapore's foremost Tamil language short-story writer and novelist and was instrumental in putting the language on the island's literary map. His notable worksinclude Irupathainthu Aandukal (Twenty-Five Years, 1980), Peedam (Seat Power, 1988) and Gypsies (2007). He has received the Thamizhavel award, the South East Asia Writers Award, and the Cultural Medallion.

Singai Ma Ilangkannan

M. Balakrishnan, also known by his pen name Ma Ilangkannan, is a well-respected author of Tamil-language fiction in Singapore. He has published several novels and short story collections that have depicted the lives of the Tamil migrant working class in Singapore through the decades. Among the awards he has received are the S.E.A. Write Award (1982), the Thamizhavel Award (Gold) (1999), and the Singapore Literature Prize (2004). In 2005, Balakrishnan received the Cultural Medallion for his contributions to literature in Singapore.